TATTOO PICTURES DESIGNS CONVENTIONS STUDIOS PIERCINGS FORUM UPLOAD
HOME | TATTOO MENU | TATTOO LAWS | New Hampshire Tattoo Laws

New Hampshire Tattoo Laws

314-A:8 Body Art on Minors Prohibited.

I. Branding and tattooing a person under the age of 18 is prohibited.

II. Body piercing a person under the age of 18 is prohibited without consent of that person's parent or legal guardian.

III. The consent required by paragraph II of this section shall be satisfied only by the parent or legal guardian being physically present at the time the body piercing is performed and, upon presenting evidence of the person's status as parent or legal guardian, by signing a document declaring that the person is the parent or legal guardian of the minor on whom the piercing is to be performed. The consent shall indicate the location of the piercing on the minor's body. Records shall be maintained for a minimum of 7 years.

314-A:2 License Required; Fees.

I. It shall be unlawful for any person to practice body piercing, branding, or tattooing without a license, unless such person is exempt under RSA 314-A:4.

II. Licenses issued by the commissioner shall be valid for one year from the date of issue.

III. Licenses shall be issued to any person who:

(a) Makes application on a form prescribed by the commissioner;

(b) Makes payment of fees required under RSA 314-A:6, III;

(c) Has been practicing body piercing, branding, or tattooing in an establishment, under the supervision of a person practicing body piercing, branding, or tattooing in compliance with the applicable statutes and rules of the state for not less than 3 years. Out-of-state applicants shall provide proof of at least 3 years experience as a licensed practitioner in another state; and

(d) Has completed a course approved by the department in methods and techniques for the proper sterilization of instruments and materials used in body piercing, branding, or tattooing.

Contact Us | Partners