Questions on time estimate and artist collaboration

General tattoo discussion

Moderators: buttwheat, sidelvar, kohlhaas, EvilJay, Sphenoid, SharpTattoos

ZenZhu

Fri Jul 08, 2005 5:55 pm

Newbie to the forum and getting a tattoo here with a couple of questions. I'm contemplating getting an armband tattoo influenced by Polynesian, Marquesan, and Maori design..... not directly copying motifs, of course, since I don't want to swipe someone's ta moko or anything. I am an artist as well, though not a tattoo artist.

The first question is if anyone has estimates of how long an armband that is about 15" around (haven't formally measured yet) and about 0.6" high and is entirely blackwork takes.

The second is about collaborating with the tattoo artist I select for the work. As mentioned, I'm an artist, so researching tribal/Polynesian/etc. styles and developing a pattern isn't difficult and is more of a personal effort than simply finding a pattern online. However, I'm sure there are considerations such as spacing and all that that a tattoo artist takes into account (i.e., if you have lines too close together, the detail will be lost when produced as a tattoo). Are good tattoo artists generally receptive to taking the designs of someone who has produced their own work and tailoring it to work more successfully as a tattoo?

I'll see if I can set aside some time to produce a digital version of my designs so far to see what insights others may suggest. This is an ongoing process, and will be several more months in development as I research styles for ideas and also seriously contemplate if I want to commit to having it done. :)
BadWolf
Verified

Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:54 pm

Are good tattoo artists generally receptive to taking the designs of someone who has produced their own work and tailoring it to work more successfully as a tattoo?

YES!