TATTOO PICTURES DESIGNS CONVENTIONS STUDIOS PIERCINGS FORUM UPLOAD
HOME | TATTOO MENU | TATTOO LAWS | Utah Tattoo Laws

Utah Tattoo Laws

76-10-2201. Unlawful body piercing of a minor.


(1) As used in this section:
(a) "Body piercing" means the creation of an opening in the body, excluding the ear, for
the purpose of inserting jewelry or other decoration.

(b) "Consent of a minor's parent or legal guardian" means:
(i) the presence of a parent or legal guardian during the performance of body piercing upon the minor; or

(ii) a notarized writing of a parent or legal guardian expressly consenting to the performance of body piercing upon the minor.
(c) "Minor" means a person younger than 18 years of age who:
(i) is not married; and
(ii) has not been declared emancipated by a court of law.
(d) "Proper identification number" means the number of an apparently valid driver's license or other picture identification card that expressly states that the person is 18 years of age or older.
(2) (a) A person is guilty of unlawful body piercing of a minor if he performs or offers to perform a body piercing:
(i) upon a minor;
(ii) without receiving the consent of the minor's parent or legal guardian; and
(iii) for remuneration or in the course of a business or profession.
(b) A person is not guilty of Subsection (2)(a) if the person:
(i) had no actual knowledge of the minor's age; and
(ii) reviewed, recorded, and has maintained a personal identification number for the minor prior to performing an unlawful body piercing.
(3) (a) A person who violates Subsection (2) is guilty of a class C misdemeanor.
(b) The owner or operator of a business in which a violation of Subsection (2) occurs is subject to a civil penalty of $750 for each violation.

Contact Us | Partners